Mom Crush Monday: Meet Bailey Bouwman

Bailey is one of three of the Northern BC Mom Contributer/Editor/Masterminds behind this website and really hates writing introductions like this in third person, but hey, that’s what you do for the blog life, eh. This is her story. This month we start by sharing our stories so you can get to know us as moms. We hope you enjoy.
Would you like to participate in Mom Crush Monday? Learn More here. Check out other Northern Mamas too. We also love sharing any story or experience you might have. Send us a draft at hello [at] northernbcmoms [dot] ca and we will let you know how it can fit in our calendar.
Tell us about your family? I am a mom of 2 under 2, but they aren’t under 2 anymore. I have a 3.5-year-old and almost 2 years old. They are both wild kids and ready to take on the day. My husband works for CN Railway as an Engineer, and I’m the stay at home mom keeping the kids alive. I’m originally from Chilliwack, BC and moved here in 2010 to attend UNBC for my Bachelors of Art in Environmental Studies.
hello 2019
What keeps you busy in life? a Cloth Diaper Brand,I keep busy working for writing for my personal blog, recording podcasts for the Cloth Diaper Podcast, and creating YouTube content. Also this blog project. I really like creating internet content and being active in the oline social media space. I can pretty much find something to do always, and definitely go through withdrawal when I get bored. I’m also working on my Public Relations certificate at Ryerson University.
What do you do in your ‘free time’? Free time? What’s that? Typically you’ll find me online connecting with mom friends on Facebook. Sounds terribly sad, eh? It’s not. I’m so grateful for my internet friends it’s like the modern day penpal.
I’m also usually at Hike it Baby or hanging around at the Playground
What is your favourite colour? Purple.
What is your favourite thing to make for dinner? Curry dishes? That’s been the latest trend even though I have no idea what I’m doing and it mostly turns out terrible.
How did you become a mom? I had a baby? I struggled with Vulvodynia for many years, but eventually, that resolved itself in a story too long for this post (you can find it here) and had a baby 9 months later.
Bailey Bouwman
What is your biggest challenge as a mom? Anger and rage. I struggle with mental health challenges for years. I’m hesitant to call it postpartum depression because it’s really just who I have been for years and it’s aggravated by children. My biggest challenge with this is the loneliness of motherhood. I don’t handle being home alone all day without adult interaction very well and that’s why you’ll usually find me out and about all the time. I can’t stay home for more than 24 hours without going a little crazy.
What do you want to teach your children? To respect and honour the environment. I want to raise them to be resourceful and grateful for all they have access to. I want them to understand that the world is going to change drastically in their lives and they need to be able to respond and adapt to efficiency.
What do you find yourself always saying? leave your sister alone. and the other popular one “stop touching me” 
Your biggest piece of advice for new moms? Keep showing up, the first time anywhere is the hardest and you probably won’t make an instant connection. I’ve always been one to quickly judge and 2 years later the people I thought I’d never be friends with are now my biggest champions.
What keeps you going, day after day? coffee.
What is the most important thing in your home when raising littles? Snacks.
What is your favourite thing about having young kids?  Being able to do whatever I want… however, that’s beginning to change as they get older with bigger opinions.
Rome
Bailey in Rome
What’s something you said you’d never do as a mom, but did anyway? I definitely thought I’d be more strict with screen time. I’m working on cutting back my screen time but never expected to embrace it – however, who knew I’d be single parenting for most of the week.
How do you take care of you? What do you do for self-care?  I like to learn, so my degree with Ryerson is definitely a little self care. It’s how I tap out and visit Starbucks and study. I enjoy being around people and soaking in the conversations and vibe will pushing my brain muscle to work a little. I also really like moms night out with my friends or even strangers. I would love to learn a new skill but my feet cause me problems – last year I tried cross country skiing and it was so good for my brain and soul.
Do you have mom guilt? What’s trips you up the most? Mostly in being an online mom and finding balance in what I want to share and not share.
The Cloth Diaper Podcast
What’s something you need right now? How could a stranger help you? A visit, or play date. I also would kill for a weekly evening babysitter so I could take a snowshoe or cross country ski lesson.
What is your favourite activity to do with your family? Explore a new waterfall, or take on a new hike or adventure. It’s becoming harder with kids so where we used to tackle hikes, we now tackle road trip adventures. We are known to peace out for a road trip on a whim and I love it.
Do you have a favourite event in Northern BC? I love Terrace River Boat Days, I also love Seafest, and of course BMO Kids Art Days is a hit now that I have kids.
Where do you spend most of your days with the kids? at the park, I hate being inside my house. I would rather be anywhere else.
What do you think makes your community great? Having access to everything. Every time I go to Chilliwack I feel like I have to go into the city to do fun things, but in Prince George, it’s all here. There’s a science museum, railway museum, great parks and trails, and Playgrounds Cafe.
Does your community need something more for moms and kids? What is it? We need more indoor spaces to meet, play and plan casual playgroups. There are tons already in town but there could be more. There is often times where I would love to host a playgroup, or meet up with moms but the spaces in town are already full. We are growing and need more spaces – I would love to have a motherhood store that sold baby things and offered social spaces that doula’s, moms, breastfeeding groups and more could use to build support systems and groups.
What’s something we might not know about you? I’m pretty much an open book but even though I host Hike it, Baby, I have a lot of anxiety about meeting strangers. I also attended a women’s’ college in Missouri. I’m also a big social media strategy junkie and that’s my life goal.
Where will we find you in 5, 10, 15 years? Who knows. I’m a person of big dreams that change often. We would love to move but I’m scared of everything that goes with that. I would love to be running my own business somehow and I’m not sure what that’s going to look, maybe it’ll be social media management. I dream of opening a business in town but I’m too much of a pessimist.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *